Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)
"Out of the believer's heart shall flow rivers of living water." - John 7:38

PC-biz login Meet Minneapolis Web site disability services and awareness Link to the COLA Web site

Download the logo

ga219 logo - pastel water vessell
Commissioner homepage button MGB - government building other official participants observers of the General Assembly

2008 - 2009
.PDF Icon

COTE recommends approval of nominations of new seminary presidents

Changes to the Directory for Worship were among items of business

Bookmark and Share


On Tuesday, the 219th General Assembly Committee on Theological Issues and Institutions dealt with overtures and recommendations ranging from proposed amendments to the Directory for Worship to approval of nominations of seminary presidents to revising the covenant relationship between the PC(UCA) and El Seminario Evangélico de Puerto Rico.

The committee unanimously recommended to the full Assembly approval of the following nominations: the Rev. Paul T. Roberts as president and dean of Johnson C. Smith Theological Seminary, the Rev. Stephen A. Hayner as president of Columbia Theological Seminary and the Rev. Michael Jinkins as president of Louisville Theological Seminary.

Language in “On Baptism and the Lord’s Supper” was amended to be more gracious and invitational on welcoming nonbaptized persons to the Lord’s Supper.